top of page

Thoughts on Jurassic World Velocicoaster

Good afternoon, everyone. To continue with my roller coaster posts, I am focusing this post on Universal Orlando’s newest coaster. This coaster opened on June 10, 2021 at Universal’s Islands of Adventure to rave reviews. I am, of course, talking about the Jurassic World Velocicoaster. Manufactured by the Swiss company Intamin, this coaster is full of twists, turns, flips, and nonstop fun. I followed the construction process of this coaster online on YouTube and Twitter and during my trips to Universal before the coaster opened. I got the chance to go on this coaster in January of 2022 during my most recent trip to Universal Orlando. It’s safe to say that I loved the coaster from beginning to end. I am going to go over the experience not just on the coaster, but in the queue as well. Without further delay, let’s get started.


The experience starts with seeing statues of velociraptors staring at each other in a way that resembles the dragons from Dueling Dragons (I’ll go over that coaster soon). As you go towards the start of the queue, you might catch a glimpse of the coaster going up and down the top hat. The outdoor extended queue section gives you an awesome view of the park and of the “Mosasaurus Roll” that is right near the end of the coaster. Once you get into the indoor section, there is a lot to see. The first part of the indoor queue is energetic with the changing lights, a statue featuring 4 raptors and the coaster’s top hat, and videos showing the coaster and Mr. DNA telling us what to do to stay safe on the ride. After that first section, you go to a room where a unique projection effect happens. Lights flash red, the coaster launches to the top hat, and then we see the raptors (via projection) going after the train in unique animations. In another small room, there is a video with Dr. Henry Wu (played by B.D. Wong, who has played the character throughout the Jurassic Park and World films) explaining the scientific aspects of the coaster. In this room, we get to see some Easter Eggs, which include books from Alan Grant (who is played by Sam Neill) and Ian Malcolm (played by Jeff Goldblum). Next, there’s a room where there are 2 animatronic raptor heads which move ever so slightly from time to time. They can even breathe from time to time as well. You then go to the locker room where you have to put every loose article, waist pack, and even celebratory buttons, in a locker by scanning your ticket. The reason why is because you have to walk under a metal detector while being told constantly “Nothing in your pockets” and “Cover your watch.” After the metal detector, you go up some stairs into the final room before boarding. There’s a huge screen playing a pre-ride video featuring Bryce Dallas Howard as Claire getting you ready for the ride. We also get to see Chris Pratt as Owen telling us that this is dangerous along with some funny banter between Owen and Claire. Near the end of the video, Owen says something like this: “Putting a coaster in a raptor paddock! What could go wrong?” After that room, you get to go on the coaster train, which has an awesome design. It has special lights that synchronize with the launch and can detect the presence of the raptors as you go through the first half of the ride. The seat and lap bar make you feel more free while you go through the ride’s various elements. Speaking of the ride, I’ll go over the coaster layout now.


(Here are some pictures from the ride's queue.)












After the train leaves the station (which gives you an awesome view of the paddock), it slightly turns right before turning left and then stopping in a pre-launch section. There’s different lighting effects during this scene while we hear Owen talking again and a semi-countdown to the launch. Once we get the signed that the raptors will be released from their cages, the train launches from 0 to 50 miles per hour in 2 seconds and goes through the Immelmann loop. The coaster then drops down and goes through the dive loop, which is followed by the photo moment and plenty of twists and turns in and around the rockwork. During this area of the ride, we get to see all four raptors from the Jurassic World film (Blue, Charlie, Delta, and Echo, in alphabetical order). I have to admit that I ducked a few times going through the first half of the ride. After that portion is done, the coaster makes a curving drop to the right and launches to the top speed of 70 miles per hour and up the 155 foot tall top hat. After the big drop, the coaster goes through a zero-g stall, which is an amazing element. After the stall, the train goes through a high-speed helix that has an outward bank to the left in the middle of it. After the helix is a small bunny hop and the uniquely named “Mosasaurus Roll” that goes over the lagoon. A couple of twists later, the train enters the brake run and makes a couple of turns before heading back to the station. During the brake run, we hear Owen and Claire discussing something about the River Adventure ride. After you get off the train, you go to the lockers again to get your stuff and either do something else or go back for more.


(Here is the POV video of Velocicoaster at day and at night, both provided by Universal Orlando’s YouTube page.)




My first Velocicoaster ride was on the evening of Friday January 7, 2022. I was excited about going on this coaster for the first time after seeing progress on it through YouTube and Twitter. I was in awe of the statue in the first part of the queue. I liked the Easter Eggs in the queue. I do understand why the loose article police in place is very strict. I felt bad for irritating the team members because of forgetting to cover my watch before going through the metal detector. My autism and anxiety issues make me more nervous when other people were yelling at me for this watch thing. Thankfully, in future rides, I remembered to cover the watch so I didn’t get chastised that much. After going through the queue, I was able to sit in the front row of the coaster (which is always my preferred seat on any coaster). I enjoyed it from start to finish, especially during the second half of the ride. During that part of the ride, I had my hands all the way up after quickly putting my mask back on. I even had my hands up during the “Mosasaurus Roll”, which was an awesome element. After I got off, I immediately got back on for two more rides that evening. The next day, Saturday the 8th, I got to ride Velocicoaster 3 times during early admission due to me staying at Cabana Bay. I stayed at Islands of Adventure the whole day. At certain parts of the day, I went back to the ride for 7 more rides. Overall, I got to go on Velocicoaster 13 times during my 2 days at Universal Orlando. There is no doubt that I will go on this coaster many more times during future trips.


That concludes my post about the Jurassic World Velocicoaster. I hope that I get to inspire some people to go on it in the future. Stay tuned for more coaster posts. Have a wonderful day.


(Here are some pictures that I have taken of Velocicoaster).















8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page