top of page

Thoughts on Millennium Force

Good afternoon, everyone. In my previous roller coaster post about Steel Vengeance, I promised that the next one would be about another coaster from Cedar Point: Millennium Force. Well, I made good of that promise. Millennium Force, which was manufactured by the Swiss manufacturer Intamin, opened in the year 2000 at Cedar Point as the world’s first gigacoaster (a coaster at least 300 feet high). Back when it opened, it was the world’s tallest and fastest full circuit coaster with a height of 310 feet and a top speed of 93 miles per hour. It was also the first coaster to utilize a cable lift system, which is faster and takes less space than a traditional chain lift. Like Magnum XL-200, I learned about Millennium Force from watching “Top Ten Coasters” on Discovery Channel in 2001 during their “Thrills, Chills, and Spills” summer program event. Also in that event, there was “Extreme Rides 2001”, which also featured Millennium Force. After years of watching POV videos of MF, plus every other coaster at Cedar Point, I got the chance to go on it in June of 2006. I was amazed at the first drop and the sensation of speed that was continuous throughout the 6,595 foot long course. I was only able to go on Millennium Force twice in that first trip, but I made up for it by going on it 11 times in August of 2021. Enough of my rambling. Let’s get started with talking about the experience.


(Before I go over the coaster, I want to share the ride's promotional video that premiered in 1999. All credit goes to Cedar Point.)




The queue for Millennium Force gives you great views of the 310 foot tall lift hill (the most picturesque lift hill I have ever seen) and the first big turn. You also get to hear trains go through the final turn before entering the brakes. Once you get past the queue, you enter the loading platform, which has a very catchy soundtrack (as heard in the promotional video above). Once the seatbelt is buckled and the lap bar is pulled down, the cable that lifts the train connects with the bottom of the middle car. Once we hear “All Clear” (a phrase said on every coaster at Cedar Point), the train begins the 45 degree climb to the top. To the left is a great view of Sandusky Bay, and to the right is a view of the park that is tough to beat. You don’t get a chance to have that view for very long, as the climb to the top takes about 30 seconds. It is possible to see Canada on a clear day from the top. The 300 foot tall first drop is taken at an 80 degree angle, and it feels long (but in a good way). The drop helps the train reach its top speed of 93 miles per hour as it goes through the first overbanked turn of the layout. This turn is 169 feet high and turns riders at a 122 degree angle. The train then drops out of the turn and does a ground level left turn to the first of two tunnels. After the tunnel, there is a 182 foot tall camelback hill that drops into an island that houses a right helix and left overbanked turn. During this section of track, you still feel the sensation of speed. After the helix and overbanked turn, the train then exits the island thanks to a smaller hill that drops into the second tunnel. The train turns to the left in the tunnel and exits to a bunny hop that is right next to the loading platform. After the bunny hop, the train turns left to a straight section of track. After one more overbanked turn to the right, the train enters the magnetic brakes and heads to the unloading platform.



(Here is the POV of Millennium Force, provided by Cedar Point’s YouTube page.)




While not my number one coaster, Millennium Force is one of my favorite coasters not just at Cedar Point, but overall. The atmosphere in the loading platform is great, with the music always playing and the team members loving it all. At night, it’s very lively. There was clapping from every rider on the train and every person waiting for their turn. I love that the coaster maintains its speed throughout the 6,595 feet of track. It felt faster when I rode it at night a few times. The views in the front row are incredible, especially when it’s a clear and sunny day or if I ride it when the sun is setting. Getting pulled down that first drop from the back row was an otherworldly experience that I’ll never forget. It’s true that Millennium Force doesn’t have a bunch of airtime moments. Sitting in the back row, I got plenty of air from being pulled that first drop. I will say that the smaller hill going back to the mainland and the bunny hop after the second tunnel has some good air, especially in the front. Speaking of the front row, I would not recommend doing the front at night. I learned the hard way by being hit by what felt like a million bugs on my face. Thankfully, I kept my eyes and mouth shut after the first drop. Millennium Force is a wonderful coaster that I highly recommend riding at least once in the front and back rows.



Thank you so much for reading my thoughts on Millennium Force. I hope you have a great day. The last thing I’ll do here is to share some photos of Millennium Force. Here they are:


















9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page