top of page

Thoughts on Universal Orlando (Jan. 7-8, 2022 edition)

Good morning, everyone. On the days of January 7th and 8th, 2022, I was able to go to Universal Orlando for the first time since February of 2021 (which was during Super Bowl weekend). My apologies for not posting trip reports for that one (and ones before that). I had a good time back in February of last year. Highlights were getting a lot of beads from the Mardi Gras floats and going on Hagrid’s 4 times in one day. I also increased my Hulk ride count to 312 during that trip. That trip was still during the time when Universal had a lot of pandemic-related guidelines, including mask-wearing at all times (other than eating and drinking, of course) and social distancing markers all around the park. Since that time, Universal has relaxed those guidelines to a degree. Also since that trip, a new ride opened: Jurassic World VelociCoaster. This coaster was one that I was looking forward to after I got my ticket and hotel booked. On Christmas Eve, Universal reinstated their mask mandate on all attractions regardless of vaccination status. Even with these changes to the protocol at Universal, I was looking forward to my trip, which consisted of 2 days at the park. Without further delay, I’ll be giving my thoughts now on the highlights of my trip.

In my first day at the park, I started at Universal Studios, which has been around since 1990. The first thing I did after checking into my room at Cabana Bay, getting my tickets and going through the turnstiles was Shrek 4-D, which is now closed. I like the Shrek movie series, especially the first 2 films. The queue was filled with puns that mocked Disney a lot. The show is full of 4-D moments like water spraying, smells, and rocking chairs. Although it’s sad to see something go after nearly 20 years of service at Universal, it was past its prime. Hopefully a better attraction replaces it. At the Studios park, I had some fun riding Transformers, watching the Horror Makeup Show, Bourne Stuntacular (although there was a technical hiccup during that show), and then riding ET and blasting aliens on Men in Black. After having a meal break at the Leaky Cauldron in Diagon Alley (plus a chocolate pretzel wand), I decided to leave Studios for Islands of Adventure for where I remained for the rest of my trip.










Entering this trek to the Incredible Hulk Coaster, my ride count was up to 312. 3 rides on it on Friday increased that total to 315. On Saturday, I was able to get on it 13 times (with the help of Express), increasing my total ride count on Hulk to 328. At this point, Hulk is pretty much routine for my body. I always get myself ready for the inversions no matter where I am sitting. I even had my eyes shut throughout the ride when I was assigned the “Silver Medal Row” (aka row 2). Hulk wasn’t the only ride that I went to in the Marvel section of IOA. I also went on Spider-Man and Dr. Doom a couple of times each. I was not able to get on Hagrid’s this time around. Every time I saw the wait time on the app, it posted 90 minutes. Usually, Universal inflates the wait times. For example, if it’s 45 minutes, then it’s really 20-30 minutes. However, if it’s 90 minutes or more, then it’s possibly that full time. I had a bigger priority anyway.






That priority was going on the new Jurassic World VelociCoaster, which opened in June of 2021. I was following the progress of this ride ever since the preliminary phases of construction. Seeing the progress in person a couple of times got me even more excited for the ride. I loved everything about VelociCoaster, from the detailed queue to the pre-ride video with Chris Pratt and Bryce Dallas-Howard (playing Owen and Claire, respectively) to the ride itself. Unlike the Hulk, I was able to take some pictures of the queue due to the lockers being in it 3/4 of the way through. Like Hulk, VelociCoaster had metal detectors making sure that nobody had anything in their pockets. Of course, I followed the rules, otherwise, I would not have been allowed to ride. The restraint was very comfortable and gave me some freedom. It was a lap bar that I pulled down from overhead. The train had some awesome lights that were a sight to see at night. From beginning to end, this coaster was awesome. Two launches, 4 inversions (including a zero-G stall and the “Mosasaurus Roll” over the water) and plenty of twists and turns in between made me love this coaster. After my first ride on Friday, I declared it as my new number one coaster in the state of Florida. In all, I went on VelociCoaster 13 times in a day and a half. 3 times on Friday afternoon/evening, and 10 times on Saturday.


















Overall, I had a great two days at Universal Orlando. My stay at Cabana Bay went well and I used the early admission perk to its full potential. I had a lot of fun blasting aliens on Men in Black, riding the Hulk 16 more times, and getting on VelociCoaster 13 times. Who knows when I will get to go there again? For now, I am thankful for the two days that I was at the parks. Have a great day, everyone.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page